Ahmad Lawan beats Ndume to become new Senate President

Sharing Is Caring!

Legislators of Nigeria’s 9th National Assembly have elected Senator Ahmad Lawan as Senate President of the upper chambers.

Ahmad Lawan (Yobe North – APC) has been elected the new Senate President of the 9th Senate that was inaugurated on Tuesday, June 11, 2019.

Ahmad won Senator Ali Ndume (Borno South – APC) during a closed ballot election that was conducted before the swearing in of 107 senators-elect in the upper legislative chamber.

Even though both are members of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Ndume went against the party’s decision to back Lawan for the position, and was himself endorsed by the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) hours to the election.

After a roll call of the new senators was completed, Yahaya Abdullahi (Kebbi North – APC) moved the motion to nominate Lawan, and the motion was seconded by Adeola Solomon (Lagos West – APC).

READ ALSO  'Stay Away From Yahoo-yahoo’ – Ibrahim Magu Warns Nigerian Students

Ndume was nominated by Ishaku Abo (Adamawa North – PDP), and the motion was seconded by Mpigi Barry (Rivers South-East – PDP).

After all 107 senators present voted, Lawan won 79 votes while Ndume finished with only 28 votes. He was promptly sworn in by the Clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori.

Lawan, 60, was first elected into the Senate in 2007 after his stint in the House of Representatives, and has won re-election three times since. He was Senate Leader in the 8th Senate after his failed bid to become Senate President in 2015.

Sharing Is Caring!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *